Anyone using a synology NAS?

Total noob here. I’ve got an 8 bay 1518+ synology with three bays unused. I’d love to get some big hard drives, pool them together and start farming. Anyone out there done this? Maybe utilizing docker?

1 Like

One caution on NASes, you probably want to run the harvester on the NAS itself. I don’t think you’ll generally have problems with one NAS, but as you start to add more NASes, things can get really weird with harvest times. I can personally attest to that, to the tune of around 20 lost Chia coins… :sob:

3 Likes

Whoa! 20 lost! That sucks! Well, I’m only using one nas so hopefully I don’t have that problem.

How did you set it up on a nas? I just received my bigger hard drives and I’m looking to set it up. Any good guides or tips would be appreciated!

Yup I’m using Synology 8 bay 1821+. I have approximately 6 8 TBs Wolfs in. 2 empty bays waiting for pool + another Synology 8 bay waiting for pool.

Connected via Cat6 cables to the router. I created 1 pool for the 6 8TBs. Running fine as it is used as farm. Plotters are 2 2TB Samsung 870 Evo Plus.

2 Likes

I got 4 qnap 653d’s. They usually have good responce times but from time to time the push 5.5seconds to 6 second responce time according to info log. Still well within 30 second limit. But dry season for me for chia blocks now should have had 4 in this last 18 days now and 0 so far.

2 Likes

I am using a DS1821+ with 7 x 12TB + Dual 10Gb network and it is working very well. My main computer is plotting on it and Synology is running harvester. Currently 151 plots and response time for elligible plots is between 0.1sec and 0.5sec with 80% are under 0.3sec.

1 Like

you plugged your NAS direct to your PC?

I’m using a DS2415+ here. I have 5 14TB drives in it currently. (Each configured with no RAID. BASIC).

I have a dedicated Ethernet connection from the full node to the NAS with static IPs set. (No plot transfers over this connection. Only lookups.)