Beginner Rig Setup : Feedback

HP Z840 Workstation 44Cores/88Threads, 2x Xeon E5-2699CV4, 128GB RAM, HP Zdrive

Processors: Dual, 2x Intel Xeon E5-2699CV4 (22C/44T, 2.2/2.4GHz)
Memory: 128GB RAM DDR4 ECC
Graphics: NO GPU (Add own GPU)
Storage: 512GB HP Z Turbo drive PCIe M.2
4x Caddy Trays for additional HDDs
Opitical Drive: Super Slimline DVDRW+/-
Power Supply: HP 1125W 90% High Efficient PSU
Integrated: SAS/SATA RAID On-Board 0,1,5 & 10
Integrated: Dual Gigabit Ethernet
Integrated: Audio

Corsair MP400 4TB NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD

28TB storage : WD 14 TB Elements Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0, Black. Soon to be 280TB.

I’m planning to run 16 plots at a time due to the 4TB SSD. I may add another 4TB in time.

As I am new to this, any further advice on the above? Anything I have missed?

Check out the madmax plotter.

This may work better than parallel plotting on your system

1 Like

Agreed, with madmax you could do without the nvme’s. Just use the turbo drive as temp1 and 110GB ramdisk as temp2. Not sure how good that turbodrive is, but in any case with the new plotter you only need 256 total temp space

OK, I am running 14 plots in parallel using GUI (still learning).

I have 4TB NVMe SSD and it is 100% maxed out with average response time of 2623ms and 164MB/s write speed.

CPU is 4% and RAM is 18%. SSD is bottleneck. Am I right to be worried about the SSD performance and should I drop the number of plots in parallel?

Looks like your Corsair has bottlenecked the whole affair. When u see the SSD is 100% utilized and has long response times, it’s being overloaded with requests. So it’s not the size that’s the problem, but the nvme controller and multiple requests.