Blinky Beach Chia Pool - I am angry about Bitcoin đŸ”„

Our planet is cooking. We must dramatically reduce the concentration of carbon-dioxide in our atmosphere. If we don’t, we risk destroying the only biosphere in the known universe.

Bitcoin is a carbon-intensive ecological disaster. Cryptocurrencies are here to stay. Either we adopt more efficient crypto designs, or we cook the planet. Chia coin appears to be a better alternative. I want to help Chia become the worlds biggest cryptocurrency, for the sake of future generations (and, selfishly, because I don’t want to be roasted alive in my old age).

I am a software engineer and CTO. Day to day, I build software systems. Until now, I have had little interest in contributing to cryptocurrency development. Given the immense damage being wrought by Bitcoin, and given my skills are applicable, I now feel compelled to act and help where I can.

It seems to me that pools often tend to be inscrutable, shady, and hard to understand. Simultaneously, the presence of many small but healthy pools seems a good way to maintain a healthy network. So, I am going to build a pool. I want the pool to be:

1. Transparent - Its source code, operations, costs, and motivations should be open and easily understood

2. Efficient - Costs should be low, such that contributing nodes receive as much of their as possible

3. Limited - For health of the network, it should never grow to be bigger than 1% of the Chia network. Let’s be honest, it is extraordinarily unlikely this limit will ever be hit (hell, this whole idea will probably die to pools built by faster programmers), but I think it is important that the principle be established. Big pools are bad and pools should not aspire to be big.