Getting Setup with Raspberry Pi 400

I’ve never used a Raspberry Pi. I’ve never written code. I’m a noob.

My hardware: Chia Network - Setup - Google Sheets

• CPU Raspberry Pi 400
  • Samsung 980 Pro 1TB
  • SSD Case/Adapter M.2 NVME NGFF SSD
  • HHD Seagate Expansion Desktop 16TB External Hard Drive

How do I start farming as a non-technical person?

Your equipment overall is solid except for that raspberry PI (I like that device overall, just not for plotting).

You’ll probably want to get at least a NUC to plot fast enough

2 Likes

The Pi is good for farming the plots though! You’ll want a bunch of large capacity 3.5" USB connected drives. A few examples here

2 Likes

Speaking of Pi, make sure you get a SATA USB enclosure that has UASP support!

https://www.jeffgeerling.com/blog/2020/uasp-makes-raspberry-pi-4-disk-io-50-faster

Big difference, check it out:

Also you probably don’t want to use anything slower than the Pi 4.

3 Likes

Interesting article, but that article is specifically about using a USB enclosure for an SSD, and comparing it to the built-in SD card speeds. I’m not sure that UASP would be an improvement for a non-SSD farming USB drive. Thoughts?

In the case of a spinning disk via USB, used for farming, I’d be curious if UASP matters much. At a quick glance a 7200rpm drive tops out at 120MB/s, and with farming usage I believe most of it is seeking, and I’d be surprised if UASP make a difference there? Since we’re talking about the drive heads physically moving around.