How can I optimize my system? (Beginner level stuff here)

Hi guys :slight_smile:

I’ve been an official chia farmer for a few weeks now and have 60 plots. I’m using my regular PC and have an external 14TB drive I’m gradually filling using the regular Chia application. I’m getting a new plot in just over 6 hours. I have farmed 0.15 chia so far!

I like the idea of Chia and would like to grow my farm over the next few months. I’ve reviewed switching the the madmax plotter but…I just don’t get it…or don’t get it yet I guess.

My system is an intel i5-9400F CPU @ 2.90GHz, 2904 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 6 Logical Processor(s), I have 16GB of memory, I have a 500GB memory card in the M.2 slot where the OS resides, a separate 500GB SSD I’m using for plotting, and the 14TB Western Digital external drive where the plots are. The plotting drive I’m using is here

Amazon.com: Western Digital 500GB WD Blue 3D NAND Internal PC SSD - SATA III 6 Gb/s, 2.5"/7mm, Up to 560 MB/s - WDS500G2B0A : Electronics

My motherboard can support 64GB

OK so with that information…what’s my best option for speeding up the plotting process? I don’t need to do a hundred per day…but If I could crank out a plot in 2-3 hours then I’d be happy. I’d like to stick with the stock Chia plotter…but if it’s just not going to happen then I can redouble my efforts to figure out the madmax plotter.

Thanks for any comments you may have :slight_smile:

Joe

Pretty sure you’ll never, ever get 2-3 hrs from the official plotter, at least until they incorporate MadMax or something like it, into it, if they ever do. 6hrs isn’t all that bad actually, good work!

Truly, if you want to speed things up, at least for now, with a system like yours, MadMax is your answer. MM is super easy once you figure it out. Try youtube and search for vids about installing/running it.

Good luck!

If you are willing to tinker with hardware:

• if your plotting ssd is a SATA, it will likely be the bottleneck