I am new to Chia

I am new. I am just curious as a hobbyist miner. I did buy some starter evergreen hd just to get exposed to it. Actually thinking of cancelling my order, really not sure. I am on the fence.
My logic is, it gets me in fast and I can see if I like mining and chia ect.

If I want to add more plots I would look into plotting myself. The general state of crypto and this bear market is playing on everyone’s mind.

What advice would you give a newbie? Much thanks…

2 Likes

It’s a good way to get in and see what the project is all about. If you get serious at some point, the project is already moving toward compressed plots though - you won’t be competitive on the Evergreen unit long term (may never break even). Welcome to the club in any case :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Thanks looking for some plotter builds. Will the compressed plots just be utilized with he new plotting software or does hardware come into play. I am thinking using the hpe z440 as a work station.

1 Like

Take your time buying equipment…

I would advice against the Evergreen as they are not set up for the new compressed plots…

If you’re a tinkerer, you won’t be satisfied with them anyways…

Take your time and build a plotter for Linux, and GPU plotting.

You can get a decent plotter (not the fastest) but one that can plot 5-10 min plots for 500 - 700 dollar’s depending on how good of deals you get.

Be prepared to have head banging against the wall days if you don’t know Linux… but it’s worth it in the end!

1 Like

thanks for the reply. Already having those moments haha. been scouring YouTube for diff plotter builds and will probably go budget. Lots of good info there. I need a checklist lol.

1 Like

Mind you that a lot of info out there is pretty outdated by now.

At the moment you really want to look at GPU plotting.

Gigahorse from Madmax is already out and functional. Chia’s own version is coming…soon (but actually wont be too long)