Installation & Security - HiveOS Beginners Help

I am new to mining and experimenting with getting setup.
I installed HiveOS (Ubuntu) in prep for GPU mining.

The CPU is a bit over kill for GPU mining I believe (i7 7700 4/8 CPU/Threads), so I had the idea to put a nvme pcie card in and use it for plotting (maybe 2-4 plots).

HiveOS observations.

• even if you set the root passwd, it is reset to default.
  • system console automatically logs into root
  • “user” is sudo member and allows the web console to execute root functions.

Chia observations.

• I installed the GUI client
  • the public and private keys are accessible
  • the parse phase is now available.

Summary,

• I have to assume the chia wallet(right term?)/account is now compromised
  • how/can I set chia plotting up without allowing having the private key accessible on the system (or is it not possible under this use case)

In the event of the 2nd point, risk of use a mining specific wallet for GPU mining machines and transferring funds to exchange account or interim handling wallet

It’s totally possible to plot on a machine without exposing your pvt key on that machine.

On a known good clean machine install chia, create a nft to plot to then you need to find 2 things to plot on another machine.

1. Pool contract address ( see this by looking at the nft on the Pool tab).
  2. In the cli use the show keys command to see your keys and copy your farmer public key.

On your machine you wish to plot with don’t install chia, but use something like madmax plotter which is alot faster.
To run madmax and create plots that will work on any machines which that pneumonic you created.
You only need those 2 bits of info to create plots.

However your farmer that is connected online will need your pvt key to farm them.

To keep any rewards safe, you can select the payout address in the gui.
If this is an address that has not been exposed online this is your safest option.