JBOD Setup Mistake

Well, my JBOD noob level has presented itself. I have extensive experience in all sorts of RAID in very large enterprise environments. But in that field, you just don’t play with JBOD. I understood the concept, but never implemented it. So when I setup my first 2 NAS systems with it, I setup one JBOD storage pool with all the drives in it and then one volume spanning all drives in that pool. I assumed that the JBOD setting meant the system would see they are separate drives and treat them that way. NOPE. I had this nagging feeling about the setup (screaming SOMETHING IS WRONG). Fortunately I had a 3rd NAS that is not in service yet. So, I tested it. Set it up the same way, dropped some files on the share and pulled a drive. CRASH. Data gone. Well, that wasn’t what I was expecting but what I feared. So, I have setup that NAS (has 8 drives) with 8 separate storage pools, each pool has a volume and each volume has a share. Now I can map to each share and know that it is an actual physical drive. Now if a drive dies, I lose that drive, nothing else. The issue now is that I have to move all of my plots from the misconfigured devices to this new one so I can rebuild those.

Is my new approach correct? Or did I just do something wrong in the original configuration that would have made that setup work properly? Hopefully what I am doing now is right and this is just a warning for everyone to do it right.

2 Likes

Yeah, unfortunately JBOD means “present one giant volume” :frowning:

I learned this early on when messing with the terra-master NAS’es. You can kinda approximate this setup if you do one storage pool per drive (as you described), but the naive JBOD is “one giant volume, if anything happens to any drive in the volume, it all goes poof”.

Not a super useful setup, but then, Chia is kind of an unusual setup itself…

i think what you are looking for is a Union of independent file systems,
have a look at unionfs/mergerfs/aufs etc