Moving from Windows to Ubuntu - Have some questions

Hello,

My setup is currently on two computers,
10x18tb in PC1
7x18tb in PC2

Im GPU farming on both pc’s aswell.

Both of the computers are running windows today. My plan is to have one dedicated Chia PC with Ubuntu and the other is dedicated on GPU farming with Windows.

So my questions:

1. Will Ubuntu autodetect alle the harddrives if I if change all 17 harddrives to one PC? If not, is there any “easy” fix?
  2. What should my PSU be like for starting up 17 disks at the same time?
  3. Any other tips and triks? I have little to non experience with Ubuntu and linux, but I love to learn new things :).
  1. Yes, but you have to “mount” them, as in assign a drive path where the files will be. And set Ubuntu to do this automatically at startup.

2. Any decent atx psu will do, as long as it has 20A on the 5v rail. Having a psu with 25A is better if you ever want to expand a bit

1 Like

How much does a HDD use to spin up, 25W ish?

So I would have to have a 1 000 - 1200 W PSU if im looing to get a 36 bay ATX case?

Edit:

And Im able to use all the plots ive already farmed in ubuntu right? :slight_smile:

Are you asking if you will be able to use the plots that you already created on your Windows box… to now use those plots on your Ubuntu box?

Presumably, your Windows box formatted your plotted drives as NTFS.

Ubuntu will work with NTFS formatted drives. However, it will be slow, compared to a native Linux file system, such as ext4 (something to do with “user space” vs. “kernel space”, or some such thing – can’t remember exactly).

I once used MX Linux to plot (via madmax) to an NTFS formatted SSD temp drive, and the performance was significantly worse. I then created an ext4 partition on that same SSD, and the performance was back to normal.

So it might be advisable to convert your NTFS formatted drives to ext4 (or BtrFS).

Is that necessary, if used strictly for farming / GPU farming? I do not know.