Noob here... Probably stupid noob questions

Please point me to the info if available:

1. I have 2 machines with storage, is there a way to combine them instead of having full nodes on both machines with the same wallet?
  2. I see that you can “copy” a plot from one machine to another, but how do you get the second machine to start farming with that copied plot?
  3. Can I put plots on a slow NAS drive or does it need to be local?
  4. When you are farming, does the plot have to be on R/W media or can it be R/O?
1 Like

Dont have answers to all your questions but here goes.

1. not sure how you would “combine” machines. You can set up a machine to be just a harvester that is farming w/o having a full node running but you would have to check the GitHub or wiki notes on how.

2. As soon as any node sees plots in the active directories it will start farming them. There is no free lunch though. Having the same plot file in different farmers does not give you more chances of getting a reward. When under the Plots tab on the left just go to the 3 dots in the upper right (to the right of the “Add a Plot” button) and that is how you “Add Plot Directory”. These are where you tell Chia where the plots are that you want to farm from.

3. A slow NAS is fine. People are farming on Raspberry Pi 4s.

4. The Node needs to be able to search the plots but I doubt if there is any more writing that is done after the plot is done. Others will correct me on this I am sure. I think R/o would be ok.

2 Likes
  1. I have not figured out how to setup a node for farming which didn’t include a full download of the blockchain. So, both nodes currently have identical wallets running on them with full block chains. I heard this is not ideal, but I don’t know how to setup otherwise.