OpenChia.io: good pool?

Hey all,

I’m a small farmer, so I like pools without a minimum payout. My first pool was EcoChia, which ended up having a mini-scandal, so I’m just checking whether OpenChia.io is all good.

Is there any advantage to the big pools (SpacePool, Flexpool, etc.)? It seems to me that OpenChia has the advantages of 1) immediate payouts, and 2) open source (if you believe that makes it more secure), and it’s not so small that wins are irregular/sporadic, so I’m wondering if there’s any downside I don’t know about.

Put as a broader question: if two pools aren’t cheating and don’t get hacked, and have the same fee and payout structure, there’s no real reason to choose one or the other, is that right?

I just looked quickly, but at first glance OpenChia appears to be an excellent choice.

“Official Pool Protocol, All our software is open source, No minimum payout, 1% fee, Full blown explorer and live logs.”

I did not do an in depth check. If I missed something I am sure other users will point it out, but no red flags for me.

Rather the opposite. By joining big pools, one is helping to monopolize pools functionality. We have already seen few smaller pools going out of business.

Luck averages over time. Therefore, for small pools if they are lucky at some point, the results will be better for a longer time. Of course, the same applies if a pool is unlucky.

For some time I belonged to OpenChia - for me, it is a good pool, but the website could be improved (or I didn’t use it properly). Maybe the biggest advantage (for small farmers) is the fact that there is no minimum payment.

Why join a pool with 1% while there are pools with 0% fee? (for the time being).

Many pools have payout as low as 0.01 XCH. Beware of those who offer payout for each transaction. As soon as (if ever) Chia gets to a point that transactions have fee, these tiny payout schemes will stop working.

That is a rhetorical question I guess.