Plot takes cca 3700 seconds.. copy takes 4600 seconds

hi guys, I’m new to chia - I like it… learning ubuntu and staff… but I have one question:
on my system, crazymax (I know… :slight_smile: can do plot in cca 3700 seconds… but now I want to full up usb 3.0 external drives 2.5 and it takes 4600 seconds, which is way more than when I used internal sata drive as destination (cca 800 seconds)

• I think you know what I want to say -
    how to deal with it?

I don’t want to wait for copy for some 1000 extra seconds copy time but is there any better way how to do it? I want system to copy first plot and only after it was copyied, I want system to copy another (destination is HDD, no SDD, so to don’t have defragment HDD)

is there any “trick” in madmax or ubuntu how to make it more professional?

start plotting → copy plot and start a new plot → don’t copy new plot if the old plot is still in transfer…

I’m just learning ubuntu and plotting so maybe some of you, more experienced, will help me with the solution I don’t even know about…

thank you in advance.

edit: sorry, forgot to tell: plotter is windows 10. farmer is ubuntu. so I’m on windows for plotting :confused:

edit2: WOW! just googled more and it looks like back usb 3.0 ports and front usb 3.0 ports on PC are not always the same … 35MB/s vs. 100MB/s - I will try it. more info here Why can I transfer only 35 MB/s to my USB 3.0 external hard disk? - Super User

As you mentioned, its your USB. Try to use another USBT port

get a faster temporary drive and copy to that temporarily. Then continue plotting. Then while plotting copy to the slow drive. This will eliminate the plotting bottleneck.

This is what the -w flag is for in MM.
If you use it , it will wait till transfer completes then start creating a new plot.

Or you could use robocopy to pull 1 file at a time of the then fragmented drive to put then onto another drive that will then not be fragmented.

1 Like