Queuing up work in the GUI (ghetto-style)

I’m still learning my way around how plotting actually works - I’ve started and stalled out on full disks probably 3x already and thrown all those 30% complete plots out each time.

I’m thinking the right number of simultaneous plots to at least keep things moving around for now is 6:

• It’s an 8-core CPU
  • I have 2x Samsung 980 Pro 1TB drives - so I figure no more than 3x plots per drive.

If I’m right, then ultimately what I want is to queue up plots for days/weeks and just let it run and do it’s thing.

I know everyone (cool) is using the command line or a management front end - I just haven’t dove into those yet and I’m wondering if it makes sense to use the GUI to setup:

• Plot 1 - SEQUENTIAL - Count:29 (max) - tmp:/nvme1 - dest:/sata1
  • Plot 2 - SEQUENTIAL - Count:29 (max) - tmp:/nvme1 - dest:/sata1
  • Plot 3 - SEQUENTIAL - Count:29 (max) - tmp:/nvme1 - dest:/sata1
  • Plot 4 - SEQUENTIAL - Count:29 (max) - tmp:/nvme2 - dest:/sata2
  • Plot 5 - SEQUENTIAL - Count:29 (max) - tmp:/nvme2 - dest:/sata2
  • Plot 6 - SEQUENTIAL - Count:29 (max) - tmp:/nvme2 - dest:/sata2

If I kick all of those off, I’ll have 6 simultaneous plots queued up and running for the next X days, fully utilizing the SSDs and slowly dumping files to the SATA drive.

Anything wrong with this if I’m willing to forgoe some performance to just getting this goddamn process moving?

I’m sure as I learn more I’ll want to come back in here and mess with staggered starts and really care about the plot phases, but at least for now I was thinking it’s an 80/20 solution without needing to get more in depth with more tools before I can “be productive”.

Am I nuts?

I really, really urge you to use the CLI for plotting. It’s very straightforward. One shell window per parallel plot, repeating over and over. Use a sleep command so they don’t all start on top of each other.