Security on Port forwarding

Hi,

I understand that in order to farm more effectively, our farming machine’s router need to open the port / port forward on 8444.

I’m not very tech savvy, but isn’t port forwarding, especially on an announced port number would open yourself to security concerns?

I saw another topic asking about an unknown wallet connecting to their node the other day but I couldn’t seem to find the topic / forgot what the title was.

Thanks in advance.

3 Likes

When you use the internet, devices are connecting to your computer all the time via different ports.

What you need to do is make sure the security of your devices is up to date. Make sure you update your OS and software regularly.

You can read more here: security - How safe is port forwarding in general? - Super User

2 Likes

Thank you for this.

So basically for it to be safer, I need to isolate the network my farming systems are on to reduce security risks, and not use the network that is widely in use by everyone in the house and my IoT devices.

Now it’s back to the safety of the chia farming systems themselves, apparently using a linux box for farming is going to be far safer than something with tons of vulnerability like windows.

Or… god forbid, someone found a vulnerability in the chia farming program and hacked that through the obvious port 8444 :scream:

I do think I’m being too paranoid here to think that someone could try and deliberately do stuff like this, my few friends that are also starting to plot and farm, don’t even want to open their ports because of these kinds of worries

Thinking this way is a good thing! I’m glad you are asking these questions. They are very important.

What you can do is set up a VLAN if your router allows it. This way you can segment your network so that your computers using Chia can’t talk to any other devices on your network.

1 Like

Thank you for the kind words, I hope the topic is helpful for anyone else having the same question