Seek help on how to auto move plot from SSD/NVME(ext4) to HDD(NTFS) in ubuntu 20.4

I am a new bee to Ubuntu, Linux world ,currently I setup madmax of copying plots to interal 14T SAS HDD(ext4) for testing,which takes around 5 minutes of copying time ,still ok at the moment, my plan is to setup destination to a temp SSD/NVME drive which is much faster and may only take 2-3 minutes of copy, and rest of my disk is all in NTFS format which could be used for windows farming later.

But I am still studying in Linux of how to auto move plot from SSD/NVME(ext4) to HDD(NTFS)

Does different file structure matters? or anyone could help advise, many thanks in advance.

Background: Xeron E5-2670v2 *2 CPU with total 288G RAM and setup for 256G for Ramdisk. as temp &2
if directly setup destination driver to an NTFS 14TB driver, system always crashed during plot 2 when writing to disk, guess, may due to not enough space.
Now seeking solutions for dumping the plotted 110G quickly out of memory, or other may cause this problem ?

Linux supports NTFS, but you may need to install a package. Have you tried mounting and writing to the drives yet?

currently Ubuntu support NTFS by default setting, I tested with MV command ,and it is successful from ext4 to NTFS now, just not know how to run it automatically with like 60 second interval , anyone with experience of Linux command ?

I would recommend rsync mainly because it allows you to limit the bandwidth of the transfer, so going from a fast drive to a slow drive will be more consistent instead of bursts of speed with slowing to a crawl in the mix. It is a very powerful file transfer tool, take a look at some examples of using it.

#!/bin/bash
while true;
do
     mv /ext4/*.plot  /ntfs/tmp/
    mv /ntfs/tmp/*.plot /ntfs/plots/
    sleep 60
done

save it as “automove” chmod +x

run it at screen cmd or service background

1 Like