The -f option for "Hex farmer public key"

I am just getting started with chia block chain cli. I understand that the following command automatically begins several programs:

chia start farmer

This starts the farmer, node,wallet, and harvester.

What is the farmer public key? Is it in hex? Is it a single byte in length or longer? Am I supposed to create a private key? Does the chia block chain (in cli) have commands for creating a signing key for use with a public key?

I have done a few hours of reading but I seem to have trouble with finding a command to configure my own credentials so I can start farming.

Which OS are you running and what version of chia do you have installed?

chia keys show

Possibly the command? I’m super rusty on cli, I went back to gui a long time ago.

Madmax’s old help file has it marked as 48 bytes if that helps or means anything to you.

The right hand drives my mouse and the left has a beer in it :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:.

1 Like

Hello. I’m using OS Ubuntu Server 22.04 and Chia version 2.1.4.

I have read about commands to start the farm, node, and harvester but have not used it yet. I understand there are commands to show the public key.

But nothing was out there explaining how to use the public key, how to make the key (if it must first be made by the user), and how it is used or even why you need it.

Help would be much appreciated. I guess I need someone to explain what is obvious to everyone else.

Thanks.

Nothing out there??

Did you read this

There’s absolutely loads of info out there, loads of videos, you just need to Google, search on Youtube etc.

They may not be quite as much focusing specifically on CLI commands, but if you are new it might be best to start off with the GUI.

PS. There is also a lot of out of date information.

1 Like