The main technical issue that is keeping XCH price down

EDIT:
A user reported wallet sync time of 1 minute, if others confirm that would mean the issue is solved.
On my side After a couple of more hours, the wallet Synced, but the problem was I didn’t know it was going faster than the full node. For new users I think would be important to be able to easily see what’s the progress of the wallet sync just looking at this screen area:

Hello,

I’ve been with CHIA since 2020, following mostly and doing farming, testing, but I never gave my feedback.

Now I believe it’s time to get involved, and since I am also a developer I hope I can start this discussion and contribute to the solution if required.

The main technical issue that I think it’s keeping CHIA price down is the slow initial sync.

The CHIA mainnet blockchain is less than 2 years old and yet the sync is so slow.
Immagine how slow it will be when the blockchain will be 5 years old, or even 10.
With the current speed how accessible will be to start using CHIA on desktop with their own wallet?

So the purpose of this thread would be:

• to gather some data, please post your syncing time in hours from zero to today and your type of internet connection / computer specs.
  • bring to the attention of the developers this issue
  • understand what is causing the slow sync time, what are the obstacles to make it faster and how can this be done.

Thank you,
please participate with your data.
only together I believe we can make Chia better.

Leonard.

5 Likes

I just synced my btc node, made chia seem ok speed wise to me.

( Sorry as slightly of topic, but very relevant. )
But i very much doubt thats keeping the price down.
IMO chia is just not widely adopted as yet, and we have huge inflation.
I think that has far more bearing on the price than sync time.
Sync can be very fast if you just download the chain, just like with btc.

2 Likes

Bitcoin also has this issue, and is one of the reasons why the price went down