Total newb needs 128GB RAM config help

Less than 24 hours ago I didn’t know that Chia existed and I’m running around in circles with the same questions. I really need a solid guide, I don’t know which to trust and there have been conflicts in what some say.

Everything is working and it is plotting and farming.

I’m using the GUI but don’t know if that’s best after reading other comments, but at the same time don’t know what I’m looking for so for the purposes of getting to grips with the basics it should do.

When I do parallel plots do I use X amount of threads per plot, do I increase memory and/or buckets?

I don’t see in the log what separates these ‘stages’/how to differentiate them to calculate my staggering.

My setup:

AMD 5800X -bought this temporary months ago and will be a 5950X when I can get one.
128GB DDR4 3200
2tb Firecuda nvme, I have 4 x WD SN850 en route and already have an Asus PCIE adapter for them.
Storage.

For a 5800x, 128gb ram not needed. 32 is optimal for that. 64 optimal for the 5950x. As a rule, 2TB temp per 32gb memory per 16 threads. However, your 5950x will benefit slightly from 128gb ram because you can run a few more in parallel. The 4 x SN850 is a good choice. More drives is better.

For you, you should be running 20 ish in parallel. Stagger every 50 minutes. Kick off two at the same time going to different destination drives.

Here’s some more specifics on what 5950x people are doing:

2 Likes

buckets: leave default
memory: default is ok, or you can increase a bit, but very little difference. as long as your log files shows mostly uniform sort, and not quick sort, you’re ok. If you have a lot of memory, you can increase it up to 6GB or something, but again, wont make much difference.

Threads: most people see a benefit using 3-4 instead of 2. Above 4 there is not much benefit anymore.
If you use more threads per plot, you can make less plots at the same time. So this is the trade-off.