Trying to build a farming server enclosure - Need some help

Hello!

Been plotting chia for 2-3 months, and I find it very fun! Atm Im sitting on 200TB, but my end goal is to be more in the 3-5 PiB range.

I have no experience with servers or Linux. So my current plan is to use windows as a farming OS.

My current build are Fractal 7 XL filled with harddrives. But with 200-300 drives Ill guess that would be a bad solution ;p.

The most important thing for me is to have a quiet server that dont give crazy amounts of heat since Im planning to have it inside my home :).

I have been using some weeks to read up on how to build a server storage unit. From my understanding the normal ones make a lot of noise with the server PSUs. So I want to build a server with normal computer parts to reduce the noise level.

I have been looking at this one:

https://www.inter-tech.de/en/products/ipc/storage-cases/4u-4424

Questions server:

1. Is there any other products that would meet my needs better?
  2. Im not to worried about the price, but if I could get the same product for a better price that would be great. Any tips?

For the server enclosure Im cosnidering this:

https://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/products/APC-NetShelter-SX-42U-Server-Rack-Enclosure-600mm-x-1070mm-w-Sides-Black/P-AR3100

Questions enclosure:
3. The depth of the Inter-Tech are 688mm and the depth of the NetShelter are 1070 mm. Is it necessary to have this much space behind the server?
4. The perfect enclosure for me would be around 850mm deep, are those hard to find?

1. Are there anything I would need to know before starting my server journey? :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

That looks like a nice quality 4u chassis. I have 2 questions/concerns:

• Does it come with backplane to connect drives and what interface it has? (sas2, sas3, or it is expected you wire up and power up all drives yourself???)