Unable to get rewards for two plots created as an absolute newbie

Hi all,

I just started learning about Chia GUI plotting. Created two plots through GUI. At the end of the Plotting my External Harddrive went out of space and that forced chia app to retry several times to copy the plots in the External HDD but that did not work(as mentioned above). So I tried switching the target for the plots and did not work either. I can see the plots generated on my machine but how can I force the GUI to pick these up and get the rewards for my plots?

Thanks

You cannot switch targets mid plot. If there is not enough space for your plot on your target then the plotting process fails. Unless you have files on your target ending in .plot your plots are not functional and will never will be. Your plots are no good.

I would not expect any rewards in my lifetime for 2 plots even if they were good.

If the plotting process is not complete you have your target temp drive full of useless working files that need to be deleted before you can start a new plot. You will need to turn off Chia and all Chia processes before you can delete these files. Detailed description of this process can be easily found in the forums.

You need 1000s of of plots stored on 100s of TB of HDDs (costing 1000s of dollars) before you can hope to start expecting regular rewards, and even this is risky. Once official pooling is out, or using hpool (I would wait for Chia official pooling) then you can churn out smaller steady money as a small farmer, but Chia farming is still an expensive hobby.

If you are having trouble producing a plot (it does not sound like your machine is up to it) then perhaps Chia is not for you.

P.S. lolz! I feel like the uppity sales lady in a boutique turning her nose up at a prospective customer! Honestly though, unless you are willing to put in a reasonable amount of time, research, and money, Chia farming is not your best bet.

1 Like