Using secondhand Dell servers as farmers/plotters

I’m waiting on a Dell R515 and R720 servers which I got second hand both loaded with hard drives. I have no experience of windows server operating systems but am willing to learn. My plan is for the faster 720 to do mainly plotting and the slower 515 to be the farm machine, I also intend to attach some 21 USB Sata drives to it via three banks of powered usb hubs.

Would you recommend installing server 2012 on the 515 (I don’t think it supports 2019) and 2019 on the 720? Do all the apps like Chia GUI, Swar, Harry plotter etc, run okay on these operating systems?

Would anyone recommend installing and using windows 10 (with which I am a lot more familiar?) though I would probably have to install it as a VM on the older machinery?

Grateful for any suggestions/discussion.

Both probably support win 10

Thanks. Is there any advantage to it other than familiarity for me. Would the server operating system run better? I can get whichever operating systems fairly cheaply.

I have found a fair bit on running windows 10 on the 720. Can’t find much about the 515 as its that bit older, but am willing to try it as a VM, then maybe I can try a linux install as a second VM see if its faster/easier. I have a few RPIs but am not a linux native at all.

i dont think the server/non server options make any difference for basic plotting, if u had multiple numa nodes per system, then i would still use win10 , but in the pro version if 2 numa nodes,
and the pro for workstation version for 2+ numa nodes

but linux is the better choice in general, its free, and usually faster for plotting, and rock solid, just maybe to complicated for you and could take you some time to figure it out which may make you loose money

1 Like