What should I choose Mad Max or Bladebit?

Hey!
I’m new here, sorry in advance if I ask stupid questions))
I will have HP DL380 Gen G9 4LFF 2x2697v3
512ram 2133
Ubuntu GUI (I’m a noob)
What can I count on? What will be the speed and which plotter should I choose?

Definitely Bladebit. Should be really fast with that system. I have a dual 2690 v2 and 512GB of 1866 DDR3 and I’m outputting close to 10TB/day. I think one plot is completed in 15.5 minutes or so. Mind you that OS can change greatly your plotting speed. For me, Debian plots in under 16 minutes while Ubuntu results in 22+ minute plots.

Cool ! Debian has a version with graph. interface? It is a pity that I am a layman in the topic of Linux

What might you think the difference is in those distributions?

What do you mean graph? Graphics?

I’m not sure. I opened an issue on Bladebit GitHub to talk with the dev about it. He said this is a known issue. Just happens with different distros. I have no clue what the difference is!? I always thought that Ubuntu and Debian were extremely close cousins! Maybe it could be something to do with the compiler or libs used? Not really sure.

1 Like

It does have a full GUI. It can be setup as a headless server, or you could install Gnome or Xfce for a full desktop environment. One of the simpler distros to use to a certain degree.

1 Like

Has anybody ever tried Suse Linux?

thank you. That’s exactly what I meant… On Sunday I will start building a server, I hope I can do it

Ah you can do it man. Nothing to it. I’m here if you need any help. I check this forum pretty much daily and if I see a notification, I will usually reply immediately. I’m no coding genius, but I’m pretty proficient in Linux. 20 year Linux veteran here. I run it on all of my machines less my macs, but even those are based on the same thing that Linux is based on, so if you have any questions, just shoot em my way. I don’t mind helping.