Which is better: External vs SATA vs SAS Farm Storage Solutions

Just curious if anyone has crunched the numbers on this. Looking to expand my farm but not sure what is the best long term solution for best bang for buck and expandability. I am relatively new to this and only have 2 external 12 Tb HDD but want to slowly expand to something around 300tb+.

Here are my Opinions on each setup so far, feel free to correct me as I am still new at this:

External HDD: easy setup, plug and plot but expensive price per TB. ($20/TB) New ($15-$20 Used)
Are there any limitations to this? max amount of External Drives supported?

SATA: Feel like this is a better long term solution but Price per TB can still feel expensive at current Chia Prices.($20/Tb) new ($15/Tb) Used
Does SATA use PCIe Lanes? Would I have to get a CPU with a lot of PCie Lanes available such as Threadripper or an old Server?

SAS: Can find cheap drives since usually used in data center, a lot of bulk available but can be confusing to understand SAS setups and you need additional components like SAS controller and Expansion cards ($25/Tb) new ($10-$15/Tb) Used

Let me know what solution as worked best for you and what benefits does each storage solution have?

Does SATA use PCIe Lanes? Would I have to get a CPU with a lot of PCie Lanes available such as Threadripper or an old Server?

SATA controllers or HBAs (host bus adapters) use PCIe lanes. Most consumer motherboards have four or six SATA ports onboard, integrated into the chipset; server motherboards frequently have 10 or more. You can add additional ports by installing additional controllers in your motherboard’s PCIe expansion slots, or you can use expanders which typically just need power. For example you could get a card that goes into a x8 slot and adds eight SATA ports.

can be confusing to understand SAS setups and you need additional components like SAS controller and Expansion cards