Which raspberry Pi to buy for farming?

I’ve never used a raspberry Pi before, any recommends on which one I should get? I’m looking to use it as my main node and farmer to save on power.

Definitely Pi 4. Don’t go any lower. You need it for the better / faster USB platform support. I doubt you will need more than 1GB RAM though, but I am not totally sure on that?

2 Likes

Be aware there appears to be some IO issues on the PI related to handling signage points of the full node because of the slow SD card access speed. Someone helpfully brought this to my attention in keybase (chat link here) and linked me to the github issue

If I was shopping for a pi for a node I would consider the Rock PI with built in NVME slot.

4 Likes

I’m using a pi 4 with 4 gb ram. Important to note that you need to use raspbian 64 bit instead of the default 32 bit installation that comes pre-installed.

I was notified on the IO issues too, but I’ve managed to farm a block on my pi with 10 plots. Moving the ~/chia to a USB drive seems to have reduced the IO issues based on the github page.

3 Likes

I am running mine on Rpi 4 2GB but haven;t noticed any… issues? I guess I need to check the logs closer :slight_smile:

You can now flash the RPI 4 to support boot from SSD on USB 3. I will move mine to my other RPI 4 4GB with attached SSD where I am running my HomeAssistant instance.

2 Likes

I am on a pi4 which boots from nvme, so no SD card involved.

I get the lookup problem occasionally,
Ie

especially when copying over new plots to the PI

I have multiple disks in an enclosure attached to pi using usb

I think I also get it more often if I have detailed logging on AND grep the log

1 Like

I came across this post today. I had done some experiments with a RPi3 (Model B+ 1GB RAM) already setup for home automation (Running Debian and Docker).