Added HBA card but no HDDs visible

Hi,

I have purchased few HBA cards (LSI 9201-16e), to start expanding (I have 3 rigs with ~30hdds and 3-4 free PCIE slots).

At first my PC did not recognize the card, seller assures it has the latest firmware (I’m not tech savvy enough to upgrade firmware myself on HBA cards using sas2flash utility, DOs and so on) - so I figured the issue might have to do something with wrong setting and PCIE lanes detection in BIOS, I adjusted some stuff and the card finally popped up in my Device Manager.

But now it does not recognize any HDDs connected through it :expressionless:
Basically, I am out of clues and here I am.

Screenshot_42

Are your cables going to the right ports on the drive boxes? They won’t all be equivalent, some are for cascade.

Well, its hard to mess up I think? :smiley:

One end plugs into HBA card, and 4 other ends go to HDDs… or what do you mean?
Screenshot_43

I think you either have to flash it to IT/HBA mode, or use the card software to setup the drives.
Flash to IT modeis recommended

1 Like

IT mode would be preferable, but if you’re overwhelmed by flashing IT firmware you have to setup a RAID for every single disk in controller bios at startup of your pc.

Did you connect them to your PSU?

Yes, of course :slight_smile:
I have even tested with an internal PSU.

And yes, they are already in IT Mode, making a raid with existing plotted harddrives on my MB?
I have 9 on my MB + I wanted to connect 15-20 more hdds somehow, but now I am stuck :expressionless:

Any other easier solutions besides HBAs and noisy JBODs? I leave in an apartment…

Get Noctuas! My JBOD is whisper quiet now.

1 Like

Only 4 drives per HBA port? That doesn’t seem terribly efficient. If you don’t want a whole JBOD, maybe get a backplane and rig something up yourself.

Did you initiliaze the HDDs in Computer Administration / Storage Manager?

omg my ears :smiley:

thanks for the video!

'Only 4 drives per HBA port? ’