Cost per TB inc. the associated hardware?

What’s your cost per TB including the associated hardware?

I’m just starting out, using a few bits I had and a few extras to make it work!

My whole setup comes out at £865.70, with a raw storage capacity of 24.3TB.
So with my current setup it equates to £35.63 a TB
After my next storage increase, another 22TB it equates to £25.44 a TB
Is this expensive?

1 Like

LOL don’t get QLC drives for plotting. They are slower than HDDs.

The KPI you are looking for is how long will it take to amortize your investment. In your case it gonna be years.

1 Like

Thanks for your input. I like your data backing up your claims.

If I had all the money needed to buy the best rig, I wouldn’t have what I have! So yes the SSD might not be ideal, but it’s there to be used without purchasing more kit and making the payback time even longer!

Years is better than decades!

I have like 220 TiB and 4 Weeks to win. You have 1/10 of the size, so your expected time to win is like 40 weeks. Current Chia price is 165 USD. Ceteris paribus you will get 330 USD in 40 weeks. To get your ~900 USD back, again ceteris paribus, you will need like 120 weeks aka more than 2 years.

What is your cost per TB?
Where has the 900 come from?

Current Chia price is 165 USD. Ceteris paribus you will get 330 USD in 40 weeks.

Also, that setup sounds like it uses a good amount of power. I’d estimate the D2700 with 25 HDDs to use 300W, so if my math doesn’t fail me, over 40 weeks that’s 2000 kWh. If you pay $0.10 per kWh, the electricity costs $200.

865 Pound ~ 900 USD