IO limitation - Lets talk about it

So i’m new to Chia, started a week ago, played around in WIN GUI to see what works, what doesnt, getting used to the setup etc. I’m now looking to step it up a notch, get linux installed on a spare SSD, see what plotman’s all about then hopefully sit back and watch the plots grow.

I watched a YT vid a few nights ago with Gene/Bram/intel dude etc and whoever was mid/btm of the screen spoke about using 8c rigs (5800x) in his flat and touched on the topic of IO. Seems to get mentioned on the forum and keybase quite often but no real solid info / discussion about it which would probably benefit quite a few of us.

Hoping someone can chime in and lay down some info on what factors affect your max workable IO, how to check if it’s being saturated, limitations imposed by your IO etc etc.

Example hardware wise for myself, 5950x (could theoretically run 24 plots in parallel with 16+32/2 math but dont have the ram to support, 32gb ram (so limited realistically to 8 plots at 3400 / 6 at 4500), 4TB MP510 Gen4 (maybe 10 plots parallel giving 360gb per plot) & 8+ HDD’s available for final plots.

Where does IO come into play / limit the rest of the chain…

You can run 12 in parallel if you drop the ram to 2400.

Also it’s 256GB per plot.

Cool but can you explain IO limitations? Is this due to cpu/mobo/ssd etc? How does it all break down?