Thoughts on a "HDD shortage" from an industry insider

I found this reddit post interesting. A nice summary of the HDD market, the factors involved in manufacture and sales, and some analysis:

I work in the HDD industry. The below is my personal opinion, informed by what I know of the industry, but not the official position of my employer or any of our suppliers.

I’ve seen the question asked here of could there be an HDD shortage and what that would look like.

I’ll state some facts about this industry:

• There are basically three players; Western Digital, Seagate, and Toshiba. There are very high barriers to entry and it is not possible for some new competitor to suddenly start manufacturing large amounts of HDD storage.
  • The supply chains for these three companies are not directly interchangeable. A component designed for a WDC drive cannot be used in a STX or TOS drive.
  • The critical component in the supply chain is read/write heads. Heads are built in specialized factories and those factories are running close to capacity with little headroom. Once at capacity, the industry cannot suddenly supply more heads without investment in building new factories, and that investment won’t come if the perceived demand is short-term.
  • What the industry can do is shift head allocation to higher capacity drive. Sometimes it takes just as many heads to make an 8 TB drive as a 16 TB drive. We could make fewer 8 TB and more 16 TB if the demand shifted from “drives” to “capacity”.
  • No matter how you slice it, if there is sustained new demand for more capacity, there will need to be a price adjustment upwards until more head manufacturing capacity can be developed.

Now let’s talk about the market:

• HDD manufacturers sell to three kinds of customers: OEMs, cloud, and channel.
  • OEMs are people like IBM, Dell, HP, etc. They purchase HDDs as a component for the systems that they then sell to their end customers. OEMs are not the final consumers of these HDDs.