What are your views on Chia in the long term?

I’m new to Chia and just had some questions come to mind:

With a massive growth in the netspace is it worth plotting / farming locally?
Would you even bother putting money into ‘mining’ if you are new to Chia?
Is it better to just buy/sell XCH on an exchange?
What do you get out of mining vs investing on an exchange?

I feel like the bubble has already passed for any newcomers in terms of mining.

What do you all think?

I personally do not further invest in Hardware. I share Brams view that he expressed on the Coindesk Podcast some weeks ago. This is the quote:

Today it might be profitable to purchase storage media in order to farm chia and get rewards for doing that. But I believe that longterm (might be like 6 months from now) this will be a VERY UNPROFITABLE thing to do. Because whats going to start happening, is that places that have huge amounts of storage, are going to start farming of that storage capacity and leveraging that already wasted ressources of which there is ludicrous amount of and thats where the eco-efficiency really comes in.

I believe we passed that tipping point already.

2 Likes

That’s what I am feeling as well, even as a n00b reading into this.
Over 6 hours my small 1TB test farm gained 5 years on its reward estimate :rofl:

1 Like

Whilst I cannot answer whether it is worth investing or not at this point I can say, and I stand behind this 100%, that Bram stating that “places that have huge amounts of storage” are not going to start farming Chia on their spare capacity. He’s very, very wrong and I cannot even fathom why he would think that beyond using it as marketing or to fire up the investors.