Win10 full node + RPI4 as harvester

Hi there! Chia newbie here :slight_smile:
I started plotting and farming with a win 10 full node connected via usb 3.0 to a qnap tr-400 in jbod mode as u can see in photo.
today I got back from another prj an rpi4 with 4 GB RAM and I want to add to my network to run as harvester. it runs ubuntu 20.04.4 and I have already installed the chia sw via cli. before moving forward with next steps I have a silly question: what if I do not want to connect via usb the disks to the rpi, and instead access the plots via cifs/smb shares?is there any best practice recommendation that I should follow or should I simply connect via usb the disks for performance concerns? theyā€™re already formatted w/ ntfs and storing plotsā€¦

Thx in advance :slight_smile:

Hi marquito,
Iā€™m not sure what it is your are trying to do with the RPi.
Use it as a harvester: this would mean having the disks attached to it. Why then SMB instead of USB?
Most people using SMB -with mixed experience- do this because they have plots on a NAS which can not be directly attached to their full-node or harvester. What would be the advantage of SMB in your case?
You would still have to run the full-node on the PC?!? So what would be the advantage of using RPi in this setup?

1 Like

I agree with xkredr59. running your RPI as harvester is totally fine. But I dont see the reason why to use SMB shares. At this point you could remove the raspi alltogether and mount the shares to your main machine.

Hi guys! And thanks for the reply!
Iā€™m just a newbie takinā€™ confidence, sorry for the confused question :crazy_face:
For the configuration steps, I am referring to chiaā€™s github article ā€œHow to harvest on other machines that are not your main machineā€ or ā€œFarming on many machinesā€.