Help Creating a setup

Hello.
I have 36 Hdd 160tb can someone help me create a setup. I’m new at this.
Thanks

1 Like

Hello,

Can you please define “I’m new at this” And what docs have you read about setting you chia farm?

1 Like

I was an ETH miner. For me chia is new.
I know 1 plot = 101 GB = 2 threads = 4Gb ram = +/- 250 gb ssd.
But I rarely see it being applied

Download the latest Chia app & sync

That will give you a few days to read around chia +/- watch Youtube videos for beginners. It’s very straightforward

People are really helpful but I think you need to be more specific with questions

2 Likes

Sync the blockchain on an SSD, 250GB is probably fine but bigger is better if the size balloons in the future.

Also you’ll want a bigger SSD when you get to plotting, 250GB is a tick too small (or tons of ram, you’ll have to tell us your goals when you get to that point).

2 Likes

My question was simple. I have 36 hdd 160Tb
And what I have read is 1 plot = 101 GB = 2 threads = 4Gb ram = +/- 250 gb ssd.
But I’ve seen that most of the time don’t do it this way.
i get confused how to put together a correct setup.
That’s why I asked for help setting up a farm.

I believe thst is using chia plotter, which we dont use as its slow.

Research madmax or bladebit plotter instead is my advice.

2 Likes

Maybe I missed it but what hardware do you currently have?

Can suggest some plotting settings depending on what you have

Oh, make a pool NFT if you haven’t yet. It’s the bottom tab in the wallet - “ADD A PLOT NFT” on the far right in that tab.

Pick one:

You’ll need a little coin dust to create one. Get some here:
https://faucet.chia.net/

It’s just like ETH mining in that respect, you could go solo with the size farm you’ll have, but pools will smooth out your payments.

1 Like