Question regarding High CPU I/O Waiting

Hi there,

I’m a new farmer that have just joined the community. I’ve been following the " [Build a Budget Chia Cryptocurrency Plotting Rig]" guide from Chia Decentral to setup my plotting machine. I’m using CLI commands instead of GUI interface to setup my plotting event. Everything went smoothly and my machine have started farming.

However, after about 3 hours later, when I use glances to check on my system status, at the bottom it shows “High CPU I/O waiting” and “CRITICAL on CPU_IOWAIT”. A little more information from the top of glances indicates that my current system usage:
CPU: around 38% up and down
iowait: 3%-14% bouncing in between.
Mem: 37%

Currently the machine has 5 plotting event going on with 1hr separation in between. The total amount of plotting event was set to 9, which the last plotting event should start after the 9th hour.

Is this High CPU IO Waiting normal? Or is there anything I can tweak to solve this problem?

Bellow is my plotting machine specs:
CPU: Intel i9-10900
MB: Gigabyte Z590 VISION G
RAM: 4 * 16GB D4-3200 Kingston
HDD: 9 * WD 10TB Ultrastar
SSD: 250GB WD Blue (OS installed here), 2TB WD Blue (plotting second temp disk)
M.2: 2 * 2TB WD Black SN750 NVMe
PUS: 850W Corsair Gold

Chia Version: 1.1.2

Any help will be much appreciated.
Thank you.

Edit: added chia version.

Could you provide info on the number of plots you are running in parallel and on which drives you have the temp dirs? Is it he m2x2 listed?

1 Like

I have 2 * 2TB nvme and 1 2TB ssd WD blue setup for my plotting.

nvme1 is named as ssd001.
nvme2 is named as ssd002.
ssd WD blue is named as ssdtemp.

I have 9 * 10TB hdd named from hdd001 to hdd009

ssd001 plots for hdd001 to hdd004
ssd002 plots for hdd005 to hdd009

ssdtemp is a temp drive working between ssd001 and ssd002.

Below is two lines from my bash script showing ssd001 and ssd002 plotting.